Connect with us


Rivers assembly to screen 23 CTC chairmen, members today


The Rivers State House of Assembly, led by Rt. Hon. Victor Oko Jumbo, has announced the screening of Caretaker Committee Chairmen and members for the 23 local government areas of the state today.

This action follows the expiration of the tenure of the elected chairmen and councillors in the 23 LGAs.

On Tuesday, the state governor, Sir Siminalayi Fubara, directed the Heads of Local Government Administration to take over leadership until further notice. This directive led to a crisis, with the outgoing chairmen refusing to vacate their offices.

MORE READING!  Osun gov Adeleke's phone hacked by scammers

Early Wednesday morning, a memo signed by the Clerk of the House, G.M. Gills-West, was seen by our correspondent.

The memo invites 23 nominees to appear before the House for screening as CTC chairmen. Additionally, seven persons from each of the 23 LGAs have been invited to be screened as caretaker committee members.

MORE READING!  Sanwo-Olu visits Lagos NYSC camp, pledges N100,000 to each corps member

The memo states: “The Rivers State House of Assembly hereby invites the following nominees for screening and confirmation as Chairmen and members of Caretaker Committees of the Twenty-Three (23) Local Government Areas of Rivers State, pursuant to Section 9(5) of the Rivers State Local Government Law, No.5 of 2018.

“Names of Nominees and their Local Government Areas (See Attached): Date: Wednesday, 19th June, 2024. Time: 8:00 a.m. Venue: Hallowed Chamber, Rivers State House of Assembly, Auditorium, Admin. Block, Rivers State Government House, Port Harcourt.

MORE READING!  Gov Kefas appoints 573 additional political aides

“The nominees are to come along with twelve (12) sets of their Curriculum Vitae (CV) and, the originals and photocopies of their credentials.”