Connect with us


Spotify to launch in Nigeria and over 80 new markets


Popular Swedish audio streaming site, Spotify, has announced that it will officially launch in Nigeria and over 80 new markets.

The giant streaming app made the announcement during its Stream On virtual news event Monday for creators and partners, with the expansion to begin over the next few days.

With Asia, Africa, the Caribbean, Latin America and Europe on the list of new markets, Spotify’s service will spread to a total of 178 countries, with the app already available in 93 markets.

MORE READING!  How I handle my female admirers, BBNaija’s Ozo discloses

According to the company, Spotify will add 36 new languages to its app, including Romanian, Hindi and Swahili, taking it to over 60 languages in total.

Spotify’s chief freemium business officer, Alex Norström said: “Having more listeners on our platform creates more opportunities for artists and podcasters to make a living from their work. And more creators means more audio content for our users to discover.

“This creates an essential flywheel between creators and listeners that is the foundation of our business — and in the end, it is what will propel the audio industry forward.”

MORE READING!  Explosions, gunshots rock Maiduguri

Spotify’s 85 new markets include Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Curaçao, Djibouti, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Macau, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

MORE READING!  Why we only hear discouraging news about marriage - Leo Dasilva

The biggest single country Spotify remains shut out of is China, which is not unique to Spotify.

Click to comment