Connect with us


INEC presents voters’ register to 14 parties



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday presented soft copies of the voters’ register to the 14 parties participating in the September 19 governorship election.

INEC National Commissioner in charge of Edo, Rivers and Bayelsa states Mrs May Agbamuche-Mbu presented the register to the parties at the INEC office on Sapele Road in Benin.

MORE READING!  Ondo 2020: Group canvasses support for Akeredolu/Ayedatiwa ticket

She said the presentation marked the launch of the publication of the voters’ register.

“In pursuant to Section 20 of the Electoral Act 2010, as amended, the commission is mandated to publish the voters’ register for the conduct of a general election.

“Consequently, the register shall be published in a designated location in the local governments, registration areas and polling units in Edo State.

“It is my profound appeal that you advise your constituents, members and voters on the need to check their details in the register.”

“To know the location of their polling units and come out en masse to vote on September 19.

“You may recall that the commission publicly declared on January 7, 2019 that Nigeria has 84, 004 084 voters.”