Connect with us


INEC retires four directors over FG tenure policy


In compliance with a recent policy requiring directors with eight years or more of service to retire from the public sector, four directors of the Independent National Electoral Commission are set to proceed on terminal leave. 

The announcement was made by Sam Olumekun, the National Commissioner and Chairman of the Information and Voter Education Committee, during a briefing in Abuja on Wednesday.

The decision, in line with the Federal Government’s circular HSCF/SPSO/268/T3/2/37 issued on July 27, reflects the commission’s adherence to the directive. 

Olumekun specified that two of the affected directors are department heads at the national headquarters, while the other two serve as administrative secretaries in state offices. 

“As per this directive, four directors of the commission will proceed on terminal leave. Two of them serve as heads of departments at the national headquarters, while the other two are deployed as administrative secretaries in our state offices.

“However, it is important to note that clinical officers in the medical cadre are exempted from this policy, as clarified in Circular MH. 7205/T/31, dated September 7,” he said.

MORE READING!  One stabbed to death, three arrested at Ogun party