Connect with us


APC declares Edo gov primary election inconclusive


The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress has announced the inconclusiveness of last Saturday’s Governorship Primary Election in Edo state. 

The decision emerged following an emergency meeting of the NWC held late Tuesday, lasting approximately three hours.

In a briefing to journalists after the session, APC spokesman Felix Morka stated, “The NWC resolves that the Edo State governorship primary election has not been completed and has now fixed Thursday, February 22, 2024, for the completion of the APC primary election process.” Morka refrained from entertaining further media inquiries at the time.

The primary election witnessed a series of conflicting declarations by various officials. Local Government returning officers, led by Babatunde Ojo, announced Anamero Dekeri, a current member of the House of Representatives, as the winner. However, Chairman of the Primary Election Committee and Imo state Governor, Senator Hope Uzodinma, declared another federal lawmaker, Dennis Idahosa, as the victor. 

Additionally, returning Officer Stanley Ugboaja proclaimed Senator Monday Okpebholo as the winner of the exercise.

In response to the inconclusive outcome, all three “candidates” have demanded that the NWC issue them a Certificate of Return. 


MORE READING!  Lead British School condemns bullying incident, promises action