Senegal's Mendy wins FIFA 'Best' goalkeeper award [Full List]

Senegal's Mendy wins FIFA 'Best' goalkeeper award [Full List]

Edouard Mendy

Senegal and Chelsea goalkeeper, Edouard Mendy has been crowned FIFA 'Best' Goalkeeper for the year 2021.

The Senegalese who is currently representing his country at the ongoing Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Cameroon topped his outstanding first season at Stamford Bridge with a UEFA Champions League crown.

Meanwhile, Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski beat Lionel Messi of PSG and Mohamed Salah of Liverpool to the player of the year award.

Spain and Barcelona star, Alexia Putellas, won the 'Best' women player of the year while, Erik Lamela got the 2021 Puskas award with his brilliant rabona finish against Arsenal last year.

See the full list of FIFA 2021 Best Awards winners below:

Best Men’s player: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland).

Best Women’s player: Alexia Putellas (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Best Men’s Coach: Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

Best Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)

Best Women’s Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain / Olympique Lyonnais)

Best Men’s Best Goalkeeper: Edouard Mendy (Senegal / Chelsea)

Puskas Award: Érik Lamela (ARG) – Arsenal FC v. Tottenham Hotspur FC [Premier League] (14 March 2021)

FIFA Special Award – Christine Sinclair

FIFA Best Fan: Denmark and Finland fans

FIFA Best Fair Play: Denmark National Team, Danish Medical Team and Staff

Best FIFPro Men’s XI: Gianluigi Donnarumma, David Alaba, Leonardo Bonucci, Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne, Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Robert Lewandowski, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Erling Haaland.

Best FIFPro Women’s XI: Christiane Endler, Bright, Lucy Bronze, Magdalena Eriksson, Wendie Renard, Estefania Banini, Bonansea, Carli Lloyd, Marta, Vivianne Miedema, Morgan.

Related Stories

No stories found.