Mbappe, Pogba, others to become free agents in 2022

Image via UK Sun

Image via UK Sun

The January transfer window will be open for top European leagues at the start of the year 2022 though it might be difficult to price out the big stars from their respective clubs.

However, with the 2021/22 football season halfway through, much attention will turn to the summer transfer window at the end of the 2021/22 football season.

Big names like Kylian Mbappe, Paul Pogba, Paulo Dybala, and Hugo Lloris amongst others will be out of contract at their respective clubs.

Their parent clubs on the other hand would be hoping to avoid losing their stars for free as was the case of Michael Ballack, Miroslav Klose, Andrea Pirlo, Robert Lewandowski and more recently Lionel Messi, Sergio Ramos and Gigio Donnarumma who joined Paris Saint-Germain after the expiration of the contracts at Barcelona, Real Madrid and AC Milan.

While football permits clubs to negotiate directly with soon-to-be free agents from January 1, 2022, WuzupNigeria looks at the following players who will be out of contract in 2022.

The world is keen on Mbappe's situation at PSG after the French giant reportedly rejected a whooping €200m from Madrid on deadline day last summer.

He could join Los Blancos as a free agent in about six months when his contract runs with at the Parisian club.

His countryman, Pogb, is another player whose transfer saga has been much of a debate with rumours suggesting that Manchester United could lose him for free for the second time.

See the list of soon-to-be free agents below as documented by Transfermarkt:

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Paul Pogba (Man Utd)

Franck Kessie (AC Milan)

Paulo Dybala (Juventus)

Ousmane Dembele (Barcelona)

Ousmane Dembele

Ousmane Dembele

Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli)

Marcelo Brozovic (Inter)

Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea)

Niklas Sule (Bayern Munich)

Andrea Belotti (Torino)

Andreas Christensen (Chelsea)

Jesus Corona (Porto)

Matthias Ginter (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Denis Zakaria (Gladbach)

Remo Freuler (Atalanta)

James Tarkowski (Burnley)

Sardar Azmoun (Zenit)

Boubacar Kamara (Marseille)

Andrej Kramaric (Hoffenheim)

Alexandre Lacazette (Arsenal)

Jesse Lingard (Man Utd)

Todd Cantwell (Norwich)

Alessio Romagnoli (AC Milan)

Jason Denayer (Lyon)

Nouassir Mazraoui (Ajax)

Luiz Felipe (Lazio)

Andre Onana (Ajax)

Juan Cuadrado (Juventus)

Florian Grillitsch (Hoffenheim)

Mbemba (Porto)

David Brooks (Bournemouth)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

Angel Di Maria (PSG)

Henrik Mkhitaryan (Roma)

Isco (Real Madrid)

Sergi Roberto (Barcelona)

Serge Aurier (Villarreal)

Corentin Tolisso (Bayern Munich)

Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus)

Sean Longstaff (Newcastle)

John Brooks (Wolfsburg)

Dan-Axel Zagadou (Dortmund)

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

Divock Origi (Liverpool)

Adnan Januzaj (Real Sociedad)

Calum Chambers (Arsenal)

Enis Bardhi (Levante)

Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal)

Randal Kolo Muani (Nantes)

Cyle Larin (Besiktas)

Samuel Gigot (Spartak Moscow)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)

Ivan Perisic (Inter)

Artem Dzyuba (Zenit)

Marcel Halstenberg (Leipzig)

Victor Claesson (Krasnodar)

Jose Luis Palomino (Atalanta)

Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal)

Niklas Stark (Hertha)

Marvin Friedrich (Union Berlin)

Roman Saiss (Wolves)

Adum Marusic (Lazio)

Reinildo Mandava (Lille)

Cristian Pavon (Boca Juniors)

Ben Brereton Diaz (Blackburn)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

Axel Witsel (Borussia Dortmund)

Sergio Asenjo (Villarreal)

Filip Djuricic (Sassuolo)

Remy Cabella (Krasnodar)

Fabian Schar (Newcastle)

Felipe (Atletico Madrid)

Jeffrey Schlupp (Crystal Palace)

Xeka (Lille)

Fedor Smolov (Lokomotiv Moscow)

Yacine Brahimi (Al-Rayyan)

Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace)

Sam Johnstone (West Brom)

Matias Vecino (Inter)

Marc Oliver Kempf (Stuttgart)

Djibril Sidibe (Monaco)

Jack Stephens (Southampton)

Lys Mousset (Sheffield Utd)

Mattia De Sciglio (Juventus)

Robin Knoche (Union Berlin)

Cristian Tello (Real Betis)

Connor Goldson (Rangers)

Thomas Strakosha (Lazio)

Teemu Pukki (Norwich City)

Dries Mertens (Napoli)

Daniel Wass (Valencia)

Pascal Gross (Brighton)

Hector Herrera (Atletico Madrid)

Jed Wallace (Milwall)

Paulo Diaz (River Plate)

Amos Pieper (Arm Bielefeld)

Otavio (Bordeaux)

Souza (Besiktas)

Patric (Lazio)

Ferdi Kadioglu (Fenerbahce)

Gylfi Sigurdsson (Everton)

Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Related Stories

No stories found.