AFCON: Osimhen, Dennis dropped from Super Eagles final 28-man squad

AFCON: Osimhen, Dennis dropped from Super Eagles final 28-man squad
Super EaglesFILE

As African gears up for the 33rd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations holding in nine days, the Super Eagles of Nigeria have released their final 28-man squad for the event.

Highflying strikers, Victor Osimhen of Napoli and Watford's Emmanuel Dennis have been dropped from the squad heading to Cameroon.

WuzupNigeria reported that Osimhen suffered a facial injury late in November and was initially ruled out for three months before declaring himself fit for the event back in December.

Although the 23-year-old was included on the penultimate 28-man squad, he contracted COVID-19 days after his birthday, according to his club Napoli and has since been dropped from the list.

Dennis was another causality who will be missed by interim manager, Augustine Eguavoen after his club Watford revealed he may not be released for the tournament.

According to coach, Claudio Ranieri, the Nigeria Football Federation did not submit Dennis' invitation letter on time.

However, in a statement by NFF spokesperson, Ademola Olajire, on Friday, Osimhen and Dennis have been replaced with Henry Onyekuru and Czech Republic-based forward Peter Olayinka, respectively.

Defenders Tyrone Ebuehi of Venezia and West Brom's Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, have replaced Cyrus–based Abdullahi Shehu and injured Ranger defender, Leon Balogun.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic)

Related Stories

No stories found.