Connect with us


SAMUEL CHUKWUEZE EARNS FIRST CALL UP! Rohr invites 23 for South Africa, Uganda



Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr, has called up 23 players for next month’s crucial 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match between Nigeria and South Africa.

The game holds at the FNB Stadium, Johannesburg on Saturday, 17th November 2018.

The same group will prosecute the friendly encounter against the Cranes of Uganda at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba three days later.

Former U17 World Cup–winning forward, Victor Osimhen, returns after a long time out, with another U17 World Cup winning forward Samuel Chukwueze earning a first call.

Midfielder Mikel Agu, who played some part in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, and home-based defender Adeleye Olamilekan Aniyikaye are also invited.

READ ALSO! I WAS IN SUPREME COURT 12 TIMES! People talking about restructuring, opposed it when they were in government, says Osinbajo

Midfielder Wilfred Ndidi, who is ineligible for the match after bagging yellow cards in the away matches against Seychelles and Libya, has been left out.

MORE READING!  Veteran Nollywood actress Louisa Nwobodo is dead

Francis Uzoho and Ikechukwu Ezenwa are among three goalkeepers; Olaoluwa Aina, William Ekong, Leone Balogun and Kenneth Omeruo are included among eight defenders; Oghenekaro Etebo and John Ogu are listed among three midfielders and Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, Samuel Kalu and Alex Iwobi are among nine forwards.

Henry Onyekuru and Junior Lokosa are listed among five standby players.

Nigeria top Group E with nine points, while second-placed South Africa are on eight points. Victory in the encounter will send the Eagles to the finals in Cameroon, with the second ticket in Group E to be down to a fierce challenge between the Bafana and the Knights.

MORE READING!  Ex-head of world athletics Diack sent to jail for corruption

The Super Eagles will fly from Johannesburg to Asaba on 18th November for the friendly with the Cranes on 20th November.

All the invited players are expected to report direct in Asaba on Monday, 12th November.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Adeleye Aniyikaye (FC IfeanyiUbah); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

MORE READING!  Van de Beek gives verdict on Manchester United teammates

READ ALSO! WHY I LEFT REAL MADRID! Florentino Pérez only ever saw me as a means of making money, says Cristiano Ronaldo

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal FC, Portugal)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Standby: Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Nyima Nwagua (Kano Pillars FC); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba FC); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars FC)