Six APGA lawmakers decamp to APC in Anambra

Six APGA lawmakers decamp to APC in Anambra
The six APGA defectors and Mai Buni posing with their new party flagNati

Ahead of the November 6 Anambra governorship election, six lawmakers from the State Assembly under the platform of the All Progressives Grand Alliance on Tuesday night decamped to the ruling APC.

The six defectors were Nonso Okafor representing Nnewi North, Timothy Ifedioramma representing Njikoka I, Cater Umeoduagu representing Aguata I; Lawrence Ezeudu representing Dumekofia, Arthur Chiekwu representing Idemmih North and Edward Ibuzo representing Onisha North II.

Receiving the defectors at a brief event on Tuesday evening in Abuja, Chairman of APC Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committe, Mai Mala Buni restated the party’s determination to win the Anambra governorship election, which informed the zeal in engaging critical stakeholders in Anambra State.

“Mere looking at what is happening, especially now that so prominent and serving state lawmakers have started joining, the grassroots is moving and Anambra people are moving to the APC,” he said.

The NATION reported that Buni subsequently presented the lawmakers with the APC flag at the end of a strategic meeting held behind closed doors.

The excited defectors described the APC as the preferred party and promised to mobilise support towards victory in the November 6 governorship polls.

According to Imo Governor and Chairman of Anambra APC Governorship Election Council, Senator Hope Uzodinma, the Southeast people have woken up and the region is committed to national politics and be part and parcel of Nigeria.

He also expressed confidence that APC is set to win the Anambra governorship election.

The brief ceremony held at Imo State Governors’s Lodge was attended by Governors of Lagos, Osun and Kogi as well as top members of the party in Anambra State.

Related Stories

No stories found.