Connect with us


NJC appoints 11 Supreme Court justices


The National Judicial Council has selected 11 justices to fill vacant positions on the Supreme Court bench. 

This move comes in response to the recent retirement of Justice Musa Dattijo, leaving the court with 10 justices, well below the constitutionally mandated 21.

Recall that Wuzup Nigeria reported that the NJC screening 22 candidates shortlisted for the positions by the Federal Judicial Service Commission. Now, the NJC has officially announced the names of the successful candidates:

  • Justice Haruna Tsammani (Bauchi)
  • Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa)
  • Justice Jummai Sankey (Plateau)
  • Justice Chidiebere Uwa (Abia)
  • Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (Imo)
  • Justice Obande Ogbuinya
  • Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi)
  • Justice Habeeb Abiru (Lagos)
  • Justice Jamilu Tukur
  • Justice Abubakar Umar (Kebbi)
  • Justice Mohammed Idris (Niger)

The NJC is expected to forward these nominations to President Tinubu for approval before Friday.

In addition to the Supreme Court appointments, the NJC also made recommendations for various other positions:

  • Justice Mohammed Ahmed Ramat for the Court of Appeal.
  • Justice Joel Agya as the Chief Judge of Taraba State.
  • Justice Umar Abubakar as the Chief Judge of Kebbi State.
  • Kadi Mukhtar as the Grand Kadi Sharia Court of Appeal in Kebbi State.
  • Justice A. O. Femi-Segun as the President of the Customary Court of Appeal of Ogun State.
  • Justice Alfred Yakubu as the President of the Customary Court of Appeal of Taraba State.
  • Justice Tajudeen M. Abdulganiyu as the President of the Customary Court of Appeal of Oyo State.
  • Amaebi Orukari and Akinyemi Ayodele as High Court judges in Bayelsa and Ogun states, respectively.

The NJC spokesperson Adesoji Oye on Wednesday, said clarifies the next steps. He said, “All recommended candidates to the Supreme Court bench would be sworn in after the approval of their recommendation by President Bola Tinubu, GCFR, and the subsequent confirmation of their appointment by the Senate.

“The various Heads of Court recommended would also be sworn in upon the approval of their appointment by their various state governors and subsequent confirmation of same by their respective state Houses of Assembly.”


MORE READING!  Universal Music Group acquires majority stake in Don Jazzy's Mavin