Connect with us


LESS THAN 24 HOURS! New CJN swears in election tribunals


Less than 24 hours after he was sworn-in as the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, the Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad, on Saturday performed his first official duty when he swore-in chairmen and members of the election petition tribunals for the 2019 general selections.

He was sworn in on Friday by President Muhammadu Buhari to replace the suspended CJN, Walter Onnoghen, who is facing charges of false assets declaration before the Code of Conduct Tribunal.

MORE READING!  Blackout: Ogun vows repairs of poles destroyed by heavy rain

Onnoghen was suspended based on an exparte order granted by the CCT, directing the president to so act.

Out of 17 justices of the Supreme Court, only Justice Sidi Bage joined Muhammad at the event.

The tribunals are made up of 250 members who would hear petitions arising from National and State Assemblies, and Governorship elections.

No reason was however given for the absence of the other justices of the apex court at the ceremony.

MORE READING!  LAUTECH introduces Mass Communications, five other programs

Justice Muhammad charged members of the tribunals to abide by the oath of office they took, saying that, “The oath is a solemn appeal to the Almighty God.

“Therefore, it is from this oath that your duties and responsibilities as chairmen and members of the election petition tribunals in your various places of assignment spring forth and has a binding effect.”

MORE READING!  EFCC withdraws appeal against order blocking Yahaya Bello's arrest

He charged members of the tribunals to discharge their duties diligently and with the fear of God.

Muhammad said the nation’s judiciary was in the trying time and judicial officers must stand to protect and uphold the integrity of the judicial arm of government

He urged them to consider their appointment to serve on the election petition tribunals as a call to greater service to the nation.