Connect with us


Kano assembly passes new Emirates law, dethrones four emirs


The Kano State House of Assembly passed the Kano Emirates Council Law 2024 on Thursday, which dethrones four Emirs in the state.

The new law, titled the Kano State Emirates Council (Amendment No. 2) Law, 2024, was sponsored by the Majority Leader of the House, Lawan Chediyar Yan Gurasa. This bill repeals the previous law that created five Emirates in the state.

MORE READING!  Court delays arraignment of Yahaya Bello to June 27

Former Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje had established the Emirates of Bichi, Rano, Gaya, Karaye, and the Kano Emirate. However, the new law dissolves these Emirates and reverts Kano back to a Single Emirate System.

According to the law, “All offices created under the repealed law have been dissolved, and district heads appointed or elevated under the previous legislation are to revert to their former positions.”

MORE READING!  No toxic division with Labour Party - Peter Obi

This means that any district heads who were promoted under the old law will return to their former roles, effectively undoing the changes made by the former governor.

The passage of this law marks a significant change in the traditional leadership structure of Kano State.