Connect with us


Gov Yusuf appoints Ganduje member Kano Elders Council


Kano State Governor, Abba Kabir Yusuf, has taken a significant step by appointing all former governors of the state into the newly established Kano Elders Council, as announced over the weekend. 

The Director General of Media and Publicity to the governor,  Sunusi Bature Dawakin Tofa, issued a statement providing further details on this development.

The statement revealed that Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, and Senator Ibrahim Shekarau are among the notable figures appointed as members of the Kano Elders Council.

“The Council of Elders comprises former Governors, Deputy Governors, Senate Presidents, Speakers of the House of Representatives, Speakers of the State House of Assembly, Deputy Speakers, retired Supreme Court justices, retired Appeal Court justices, former Chief Justices of the state, former Secretaries to the State Government, and former Heads of State Civil Service, who are all indigenous to the state,” explained Sunusi Bature Dawakin Tofa.

Furthermore, the council is set to include representatives from various sectors, as he stated, “Additionally, the council includes the leadership of the Ulamas, the Business Community, the traditional rulers, former heads of security agencies from Kano State, and other distinguished elders to be identified and appointed by the government.”

Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf highlighted the significance of the elders and former leaders in Kano, stating, “Kano has been blessed by Allah SWT with numerous elders and former leaders who have achieved the pinnacle of their careers and continue to be active and healthy.”

The governor’s spokesperson, Mr. Sunusi Bature Dawakin Tofa, emphasized that the administration sees the elders as possessing a wealth of knowledge, wisdom, and experience. He added, “his administration will deliberately seek to harness their versatile expertise.”

The statement concluded by noting that the inauguration date for the Kano Elders Council will be determined shortly, signifying the commencement of this new phase in the governance and leadership structure of the state.


MORE READING!  Ex-deputy speaker, Ihedioha quits PDP