Connect with us


First countries to enter 2024


Nigeria is gearing up to bid farewell to 2023 and usher in the much-anticipated New Year of 2024, joining a global chorus of celebrations. While the anticipation for the coming year is palpable in Nigeria, it’s essential to keep the excitement alive.

While Nigeria is among the final countries to embrace the New Year, the inhabitants of Kiritimati Island, commonly known as Christmas Island, and a series of other sparsely populated islands in the central Pacific Ocean will be the pioneers in ringing in 2023.

Kiritimati Island boasts a time zone 13 hours ahead of Abuja, Nigeria’s Federal Capital Territory, making it the first to celebrate the approaching year while it’s still 11 a.m. in Nigeria.

The Pacific nation of Kiribati will take the lead in New Year celebrations, commencing at 11 a.m. Nigeria time. As we enjoy a mid-morning brunch on New Year’s Eve, Samoa and New Zealand will revel in firework displays and familial feasts, welcoming 2024 around 11 a.m. GMT.

Following suit, Australia will embrace the New Year about two hours later. Subsequently, Japan, South Korea, and North Korea will usher in the new year around 3 p.m. GMT, succeeded by China, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, and the Philippines at 4 p.m. UK time.

Before the UK strikes midnight, Asia, South East Asia, the Middle East, and Africa will have marked the special occasion.

The UK will synchronize its New Year celebration with Portugal, Ireland, Iceland, Ghana, and an hour later than the majority of Europe, including France, Spain, and Greece.

The final nations to welcome 2024 will be in North and South America, with two uninhabited US territories — Baker Island and Howland Island — among the last countries to embrace the New Year, alongside American Samoa, celebrating at 11 a.m. GMT on Monday.

Curious about the New Year celebration times? Here’s a breakdown:


MORE READING!  EPL: Everton's ten points reduction slashed to six

– 10 a.m. – Samoa and Christmas Island/Kiribati

– 10:15 a.m. – New Zealand

– 12 p.m. – Fiji and Eastern Russia

– 1 p.m. – Eastern Australia (Melbourne and Sydney)

– 2 p.m. – Central Australia (Brisbane, Darwin, and Adelaide)

– 3 p.m. – Japan, South Korea, and North Korea

– 3:15 p.m. – Western Australia (Perth and Eucla)

– 4 p.m. – China, Philippines, Singapore

– 5 p.m. – Thailand, Cambodia, and Indonesia

– 5:30 p.m. – Myanmar and Cocos Islands

– 6 p.m. – Bangladesh

– 6:15 p.m. – Nepal

– 6:30 p.m. – India and Sri Lanka

– 7 p.m. – Pakistan

– 8 p.m. – Azerbaijan

– 8:30 p.m. – Iran

– 9 p.m. – Turkey, Iraq, Kenya, and Western Russia

– 10 p.m. – Greece, Romania, South Africa, Hungary, and eastern European cities

– 11 p.m. – Germany, France, Italy, Algeria, Belgium, Spain

– Midnight – UK, Ireland, Ghana, Iceland, Portugal


MORE READING!  Lagos police arraign woman to Kirikiri prison for assaulting cop

January 1

– 1 a.m. – Cape Verde and the Spanish Isles

– 2 a.m. – Eastern Brazil, South Georgia and Sandwich Islands

– 3 a.m. – Argentina, remaining regions in Brazil, Chile, Paraguay

– 3:30 a.m. – Newfoundland and Labrador/Canada

– 4 a.m. – Eastern Canada, Bolivia, Puerto Rico

– 5 a.m. – Eastern Standard Time in the US – New York, Washington, Detroit, and Cuba

– 6 a.m. – Central Standard Time in the US – Chicago

– 7 a.m. – Mountain Standard Time in the US – Colorado, Arizona

– 8 a.m. – Pacific Standard Time in the US – LA, Nevada

– 9 a.m. – Alaska and French Polynesia

– 10 a.m. – Hawaii, Tahiti, and Cook Island

– 11 a.m. – American Samoa

– 12 p.m. – Baker Island, Howland Island


MORE READING!  Burna Boy's 'African Giant' goes platinum France