Connect with us


FG charges Fubara loyalist with terrorism


The federal government has filed terrorism charges against Chima Eguma Ezebalike, Prince Lukman Oladele, Kenneth Goodluck Kpasa, Osiga Donald, and Ochueja Thankgod—four individuals from Port Harcourt.

These accused individuals, suspected loyalists of Siminalaye Fubara, are alleged to have invaded, vandalized, and set fire to the Rivers State House of Assembly during political unrest in Port Harcourt last October.

Notably, former factional Speaker Hon Edison Ehie, implicated in the 7-count terrorism charges, is currently at large along with other suspects.

MORE READING!  Ex-EFCC chairman, Ibrahim Lamorde, dies at 61

The charges, marked FHC/ABJ/CR/25/2024, list Inspector General of Police (IGP) Kayode Egbetokun as the complainant.

The accused have been held by the anti-terrorism department of the police at the Force Headquarters in Abuja and are set to be arraigned at the Federal High Court in Abuja today.

The charges include the alleged destruction of public property and the killing of a Superintendent of Police, Bako Agbashim, and five police informants in Ahoada community.

MORE READING!  Police uncover plans to destabilise Kano over Emirate tussle

The suspects are accused of employing various cult groups to wreak havoc in Rivers State, including Supreme Viking Confraternity, Degbam, Iceland, and Greenland.

Leading the prosecution team is Senior Advocate of Nigeria and Deputy Commissioner of Police Simon Lough, who will present the case before Justice Bolaji Olajuwon of the Federal High Court in Abuja.

MORE READING!  Bad dream made us relocate to US - Pastor Sam Adeyemi

The charges specify actions on October 29, 2023, at Moscow Road in Port Harcourt, alleging acts of terrorism under the Terrorism Prevention and Prohibition Act 2022, punishable offenses under section 26 (1) of the Act.

Their arraignment is scheduled to take place today before Justice Bolaji Olajuwon.