Connect with us

Entertainment

DJ Khaled to host MTV Africa Music Awards

Published

Popular American disk jockey, DJ Khaled has been named as the international host for 2021 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMAs) which will be held in the capital city of Uganda, Kampala.

The hip-hop star will host the virtual awards ceremony from his home in Miami, along with other African co-emcees who will be based in Kampala.

MORE READING!  Infidelity: Singer Oritsefemi reunites with wife, Nabila

MTV MAMA Awards will air across the globe (180 countries) for the very first time on MTV from 8 pm CAT, 6 pm GMT and 1 pm ET 20th February 2021.

Hip-hop stars like Wyclef Jean and Eve and actors Anthony Anderson and Marlon Wayans are among past hosts of the event, now in its 14th year.

MORE READING!  Why Africans are poor - Reno Omokri

Speaking on the development, DJ Khaled said,

“MTV has always been a great partner so I jumped at the opportunity to host this year’s MAMAs. I can’t wait to celebrate the incredible music that comes out of Africa, which has inspired me throughout my career.”

Recall that DJ Khaled received a nomination for Best International Act, and is up against Megan Thee Stallion, The Weeknd, Drake, Beyoncé and Da Baby.

MORE READING!  Icons take over Twitter as Laycon hits one million followers

Other artists nominated, include Burna Boy, Calema, Diamond Platnumz, Master KG, Davido, Tiwa Savage and Wizkid, who will compete for Artist of the Year.

Advertisement
Click to comment




Trending