Connect with us


Communal clash: Osun imposes curfew on two LGAs


Democracy Day June 12 Sowore protest

The Osun State Government has declared a 24-hour curfew in Irepodun and Orolu Local Government Areas of the State, following the communal clash between Ilobu and Erin-Osun communities on Saturday.

Two persons have reportedly died in the incident while several others were injured; houses and some other properties were also destroyed in the violence.

MORE READING!  Soldiers kill bandits attempting to abduct pregnant woman in Sokoto

Following the violence, the state governor, Gboyega Oyetola, ordered the deployment of Army and armed police to restore peace in the area.

The Secretary to the State Government, Prince Wole Oyebamiji, in a statement, said the curfew became necessary to douse tension in the troubled area.

“As a responsible and responsive government that took the sacred oath to protect the lives and property of our citizens, we believe that the declaration of curfew is the way to go in this circumstance.

“By this, security operatives have been directed to arrest and prosecute any person found violating the curfew and those responsible for the violence.

“All citizens and residents of the affected Local Government Areas are enjoined to comply with this directive as any person found contravening this order shall be made to face the wrath of the law,” the statement read.