Connect with us


Buhari names train stations after Osinbajo, Tinubu, others


Buhari Tinubu rift Garba shehu

President Muhammadu Buhari has named some train stations in the country after Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, and Bola Tinubu, the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Buhari also named train stations after Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Transportation; and Babatunde Fashola, Minister of Works and Housing.

Buhari’s Assistant on Digital and New Media, Tolu Ogunlesi disclosed the gesture, via his Twitter handle on Monday.

MORE READING!  Kano assembly passes new Emirates law, dethrones four emirs

Ogunlesi said it named the Apapa train station after Tinubu, while they conferred the Agege station on Fashola.

Also, Lateef Jakande (Agbado station), Osinbajo (Kajola station), and Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station).

He wrote:


“President @MBuhari has approved the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after deserving Nigerian citizens. — HM @ChibuikeAmaechi

“Bola Ahmed Tinubu @AsiwajuTinubu (Apapa station.)

“The late Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station

“Babatunde Raji Fashola @tundefashola (Agege station)

”Lateef Jakande (Agbado station)

“Vice President @ProfOsinbajo (Kajola station

“Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station)

“Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station)

“Segun Osoba (Olodo station)

“Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station)

“Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station)

“Alex Ekwueme (Operations Control Centre).”

Recall that Buhari had recently named the largest train station on the Warri-Itakpe railway route – the Agbor railway facility and station after his predecessor, Goodluck Jonathan.