Connect with us


Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay to receive automatic World Cup qualification in 2030


FIFA announced on Thursday that Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay will all receive automatic qualification spots for the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

The three South American nations will host the opening games of the tournament, which is being jointly hosted by Morocco, Portugal, and Spain.

The announcement comes after FIFA had previously only confirmed that Morocco, Portugal, and Spain would automatically qualify.

However, FIFA has now decided to expand the number of automatic qualifiers from three to six, with the three South American nations receiving the additional spots.

The guaranteed qualification for 2030 is especially good news for Paraguay, which has failed to qualify for the last three World Cups.

Argentina and Uruguay are both traditional football powers, and they will be strong contenders to win the tournament in 2030.

The 2030 World Cup will be the first to feature 48 teams, up from the current 32-team format.

The automatic qualification spots for Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay will be in addition to the three spots that are already allocated to South America.

This means that a total of six South American teams will automatically qualify for the 2030 World Cup.

The remaining two spots from South America will be filled through a playoff with a team from another continent.