Connect with us


AA, APGA members of Imo Assembly decamp to PDP


Imo Assembly

Six members of the Imo State House of Assembly on Monday dumped their parties for the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

The lawmakers include Chiji Collins of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) Isiala Mbano while Mike Iheanetu (Aboh Mbaise), Ukoha Broho (Ezinihitte Mbaise), Victor Onyewuchi (Owerri West), Ken Agbim (Ahaizu Mbaise) and Lloyd Chukwuemeka (Owerri North) were from Action Alliance (AA).

The members announced their defection during the valedictory session of the eighth Imo Assembly in Owerri.

MORE READING!  Imo senator dumps LP, joins APC

The members officially submitted a letter expressing their concerted desire to incumbent Speaker, Chinedu Offor noting that they were decamping in the overall interest of the state.

The movement is in good faith and in our efforts to move the state forward. We thank our numerous constituents for their continuous support,” the letter read.

READ ALSO: Imo Assembly gets new Speaker

In a related development, the Speaker, Offor swore in Mrs Chinelo Emehara, a lawyer, as acting Clerk of the Imo assembly and charged her to discharge her duties in the overall interest of the state.

MORE READING!  Edo govt petitions IGP, accuses Shaibu of inciting unrest

It will be recalled that erstwhile clerk of the House, Mr Christian Duru was suspended on June 3 for allegations of misconduct.

Offor however, seized the valedictory session to thank House members for their hard work and patriotism since the inauguration of the Assembly on June 11, 2015.

The speaker wished the incoming assembly success while mentioning the achievements of the outgoing assembly to include the presentation of 204 bills.

MORE READING!  Tanzanian minister sacked after election rigging remarks

He further thanked the governor, Emeka Ihedioha for his unbiased support since assuming office on May 29.